Switch up the Mood

Image

Switch up the Mood

 

Assignment Details

Color, lighting, saturation, contrast, and many other factors all play in to taking a decent photo and making it fabulous. This assignment is to change the mood or tone of a photograph by altering the contrast, brightness, hue, saturation, exposure, etc. You do not have to change all of those things about the photo, but you can if you would like to. Experiment. Don’t be afraid to take it to the extremes, and don’t be afraid to be subtle. Familiarize yourself with your editing software, whether it’s Photoshop, GIMP, Picnik, or any number of other editing platforms. Most of all, enjoy what you are doing!
Personally, I have messed with these elements of a picture but never on a photo-editing program. Word has been sufficient enough for me in terms of changing the ‘mood’ of a picture. However, since this class/assignment is about trying something new, I downloaded GIMP. Honestly, I cannot say exactly the steps I went through in order to edit this picture. This experience was a bunch of clicking around, messing up, starting over, getting frustrated, and finally producing my final product. I can’t say that I had a specific goal in mind on how I wanted the picture to look but I definitely was aiming to make it look different and maybe cooler. Through this experience I KIND OF familiarized myself with GIMP and successfully came out with a finished product.

3 responses »

  1. Interesting. Curious what your thoughts are here. Or is the image to be taken up as is without explanation. Looks like the bottom one was altered with a filter. I like that they don’t match up completely, leaving me to interpret some kind of fragmentation between reality and a fuzzy dream state. Am I close? Good work.

  2. If you enhanced the picture without seeing the original… I don’t think it would have been as interesting because it would be just another picture. But it’s really cool when you get to see the original and how much the top section pops out and is so much more interesting. I love the contrast!

Leave a Reply

